Tuddenham Mill, Suffolk boutique hotel, offers rustic chic at its best. Read the guest reviews & press reviews.

Read the latest reviews from our guests

 

Lovely and amazing food

We visited for my birthday and had an amazing time. The room was beautiful and lots of thoughtful touches like the complimentary sloe gin! I am dairy intolerant and the restaurant was so helpful and accommodating. The food was absolutely amazing including the special dessert they prepared for me. I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

May 2015
Tripadvisor

Amazing Loft Suite!

I had always wanted to stay at this hotel, as I had read many great reviews and the Loft Suites looked amazing. So as it was a special occasion last weekend myself and my partner stayed here for my birthday. I was not disappointed, the loft suite was a great size with so many little extras which made it even more exciting. Fresh orange juice, milk, biscuits and a small bottle of sloe gin with a couple of shot glasses. The bath was beautiful and big enough for two and the rain shower was also lovely. My partner has previously emailed the hotel as I didn't like the look of anything on their menu and after several emails back and forth the chef agreed to do something I liked. The meal was lovely and my partner who loves most things said it was amazing! After finishing dinner we headed back to our Suite to find a bed of roses, a candle lit bath and the room tidied and replenished. This was obviously an extra cost organised by my partner but the team did a very good job as I didn't have a clue and it looked beautiful. Breakfast was nice and we were even allowed to check out a little later. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

May 2015
Tripadvisor

Birthday getaway

We stayed for one night as a birthday treat having found the Mill on the internet. Had a lovely stay in Loft Room South which had a very modern style. We enjoyed the Bose sound system although you had use of a very nice flat screen tv with free wifi too.The bed was huge and comfortable complimented by goose down pillows and bedding.and we enjoyed the complementary refreshments.

We arrived during the afternoon and took advice from the in room leaflet and had a stroll into Tuddenham Village and walked a bit of the Icknield Way.

Later we had dinner which was excellent, the staff very attentive but discreet.

We had the benefit of some lovely sunshine during our stay which showed off the grounds and mill stream beautifully.

We would have no hesitation in recommending a stay here.

If you are out and about in the area a visit to Elveden Farm Shop is worth it too

April 2015
Tripadvisor

Lovely chilled out stay

Enjoyed a fab Saturday night stay recently in a gorgeous loft room. Huge thanks to Sheryl, Jess and Stacey. Great ladies on reception. Sheryl was really helpful in showing us to our room, and pointing out how everything worked. Wow wow wow what a smashing place. Lovely views out to the meadows, with table and chairs on a wooden verandah outside overlooking the views, Even had a telescope inside for bird/stars watching. Bose sound system greeted us on entering the room, with chilled out music softly playing, next to an oversized feather pillows and quilted bed. Loewe flat screen adjustable tv and blu ray player, near a remote controlled gas fire and comfy low lying settee to stretch your weary limbs. If that wasn't enough, a feature bath was awaiting us in the room too. Behind a screen lay a large rain shower, toilet, his n hers sinks plenty of fluffy cotton towels and a couple of snazzy Missoni designer bathrobes. Generous bottles of Espa goodies too. The wardrobe along the other side of the partition housed a small safe, and handy fridge stocked with bottled water and jug of milk. Good sized well lit dressing table was beside this, with complimentary tea/coffee/hot choc tray including an excellent array of flavoured teas in a small chest, and a cafetiere. Home made biscuits to accompany. There was also a cosy bean bag to sink into to complete the room. When nighttime fell there were remote controlled blackout blinds beneath the curtains, to aid a good nights sleep. The only disappointment for us was the fact we didn't get to try the lovely sounding sloe gin tipple, heard so often in others reviews, as neither this, or the orange juice had been left for us. It would have been lovely to try whilst reclining in this fabulous room.

We had booked dinner so relaxed with gin and tonics served with canapés in the bar before climbing the stairs into the cosy intimate dining room. We chose the early dining three course menu and enjoyed soup, pork belly and cheese and biscuits. All courses were very good as was the homemade bread that came with it. Service was excellent, especially considering there was a large table of people dining when we arrived. It certainly didn't mean anyone had a poor service wait, and Paul who took care of us did a great job. ( us left handers !!!) very professional, but friendly too. The atmosphere was warm, relaxing and very enjoyable. After a fabulous nights sleep,(thanks blackout blinds!) we awoke to more lovely food. My partner enjoyed the full English locally sourced breakfast, whilst I plumped for almond granola served with yoghurt followed by brioche french toast soaked with maple syrup and caramelised bananas. Again delicious home made bread accompanied and what has to be the absolute best home made marmalade I've ever tasted. Set us up for our trip home.

We were so sad to leave, and Stacey at reception was smashing at checkout. We would have definitely loved to stay longer. A beautiful place, with a friendly welcoming team, great accommodation, plus yummy food. Many thanks for a stay to remember Tuddenham.

Tripadvisor
March 2015

Wedding anniversary

We stayed one night on a dinner bed and breakfast package. Lots of nice touches during our stay both for us (and our dog). The setting is lovely and most of the rooms are set in the grounds well away from the road with good views of the mill, the mill stream and the fields beyond. We had a very large comfy bed and a stylish bathroom. Lots of provisions in the room beyond what one usually gets. The kitchen knows how to do both evening meal and breakfast well whilst making them just a little bit different. Staff very friendly and attentive without being intrusive. We came home feeling very relaxed.

Tripadvisor
February 2015

Fantastic Christmas

We booked the hotel for two nights- Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. The room- Water Mill- was fantastic, the food lovely and the service from the staff was second to none. All in all, a wonderful Christmas experience. We will be back again.

Tripadvisor
December 2014

Fabulous for a special occasion

We spent a long weekend here to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Loft Room South; lovely location and wonderful views (telescope provided). The room was very well laid out and there are lots of nice touches.

We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday which was exceptional (I wrote a separate review); breakfast caters for all tastes and healthy/sizeable appetites.

All members of staff were very helpful and will do what they can to make your stay special. If you want a romantic weekend away, I doubt very much you will find anywhere better.

Thoroughly enjoyed our time there and would recommend without hesitation.

Tripadvisor
October 2014

Dog Friendly Hotel

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend at Tuddenham Mill. They advertise themselves as being "Dog Friendly" and we could not believe how friendly it was. Our room was huge with enormous patio doors that opened to a small decked area that then led on to a beautiful meadow, perfect for our 2 dogs. They left dog bowls and dog treats in the room and also offered to check on our dogs and let them out for a walk whilst we were out at a party one evening. The rooms are very luxurious with a variety of tea's, coffee, orange juice and fresh milk, all complimentary. The rooms have a fridge, safe, DVD player, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. We are experienced travellers and have stayed in many hotels, very few are as accommodating as this one. I highly recommend it.

Tripadvisor
June 2014

Amazing

Stayed in the loft room south, fabulous room very romantic, dined in the restaurant had the tasting menus, the staff were very knowledgable about the meal it's ingredients how it was cooked great wine to accompany the meal , service wasn't rushed allowing us to enjoy every course. Breakfast was good, might have a bit more generous with the eggs and sausage but I'm sure if I had asked it wouldn't have been a problem. We also had afternoon tea which was very good, loved the salted caramel. We will be back.

Tripadvisor
June 2014

Perfect stay

My partner booked this lovely hotel as a surprise birthday trip from 17th-19th May and it did not disappoint! It's a perfect, romantic getaway set in beautiful surroundings.
The staff were excellent, very accommodating and a special thank you to Mathew who made our stay extra special with his excellent customer service and fabulous cocktails!
I was also lucky enough to try breakfast, lunch and dinner on our stay which was all delicious! No complaints, perfect portions, and completely spoilt with excellent food!
They only have 10 or so rooms, which makes for a really intimate experience, our room was lovely, clean, had all the latest equipment including little touches like fresh orange juice and homemade shortbread in our room.
Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Tripadvisor
May 2014

Really rather good

Took my Wife for lunch on her birthday today. The staff were brilliant, the food was spectacular and we both left relaxed, contented and full of lovely food. The 2 table staff were faultless and reminded us how good service just makes a meal better. We've been lucky enough to eat at some superb restaurants, with rosettes, hats and stars; this was not out of place on that list.

Tripadvisor
March 2014

Excellent all round

My girlfriend and I visited for a weekend recently, and we're very impressed by the hotel and its restaurant. We stayed in a Mill Stream room, which while not sharing as excellent a view as the water meadow rooms was still beautifully appointed. While I felt the room could have done with something a little extra to take it to a truly excellent standard, it was lovely nonetheless and the free orange juice, water and sloe gin were lovely touches.
The food at Tuddenham Mill is of a very high standard, and good value. The tasting menu was excellent, but the a la carte was easily as high quality. The staff were very good throughout our stay, and made every effort to check that we were enjoying ourselves.
I would definitely return to Tuddenham Mill, but would try the loft suites next time.

Tripadvisor
March 2014

Wonderful hotel.

Friendly staff. The room was a perfect balance of luxury and comfort. The quite January month was kind to us, apart form adding to the serenity of Tuddenham, we were very graciously upgraded to the south loft room which is wonderful, spacious and private and I would highly recommend for couples looking to 'hide away' for a few days. As so many of the reviews already cover, the attention to detail and little extras certainly make the experience that much more enjoyable. Every aspect of the room was a delight from the fireplace to the lovely soft bedding. There isn't a whole lot to do in Tuddenham which was exactly our intention. We went for long walks/runs through the countryside which helped work up an appetite for the next meal. The food is in the nouvelle cuisine style which is always an enjoyable experience however the cold, wintery weather did bring with it a craving for heartier fare. Although this is by no means a criticism, the food was still interesting and delightful. Would highly recommend for a couple looking to escape the city for a weekend of eating and relaxing in a quite country village.
Tripadvisor
January 2013

the perfect setting

Tuddenham Mill was the perfect setting from start to finish from the helpful receptionist who took us to our room to the fabulous food to the ease of checking-out. The staff were extremely helpful and attentive, our Loft suite was perfect in every way and soooo comfortable and the food was fantastic - one of the best meals we have eaten in the UK.
Booking.com
April 2012

Very luxurious stay

This converted Mill offers a very luxurious stay. The food is innovative but works well. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are spacious with a lot of attention to detail and extremely warm and comfortable. The atmosphere is relaxed and guests are encouraged to do their own thing. The location is ideal with enough places nearby to satisfy every taste, Newmarket, Cambridge, Bury St Edmunds and the coast are all within easy reach. We would recommend this hotel very highly and look forward to returning there soon.
Tripadvisor
November 2012

Really impressed

We have just stayed at Tuddenham Mill and were really impressed. There is a lot of attention to detail and little touches which make things special. The food here is amazing, an innovative menu with unusual ingredients put together in a very experienced way makes for an exciting and tasty menu. We enjoyed our stay very much, any chance of adding a spa to make an even more indulgent stay? The staff were extremely helpful and cheerful which is refreshing to see. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Would definitely recommend especially the food.
Tripadvisor
November 2012

Very helpful staff and beautifully designed rooms

The place was perfect for a short romantic getaway; set in the countryside but not too isolated, very helpful staff and beautifully designed rooms that provided a cosy, warming ambiance. The free upgrade to the loft suite was also much appreciated, the place was stunning.
Booking.com
February 2012

booking

Please enter your details to check availability and for the best available rate.

Arriving
Nights
People
Check availability

A unique experience in the country

Site by Creative Sponge